Today I had an appointment with the ophthalmologist.  I was so excited because I was finally going to try wearing contacts!  Well, since I haven’t been sick in like 2 years, this cold that’s been kicking my butt all week has inflamed my eyes, and the doctor wouldn’t be able to fit me properly.  Boo hoo.  😥  In the meantime, I ordered some adorable new glasses:

juicycouture-london-eyeglasses-01w8-00

Hooray, they are pink.

Besides my physical sight, I’ve been thinking a lot recently about how I see the world around me.  I recently joined the “A-team” over at It Starts With.Us and my task for this week is to create my list of “Top 5s” – my top 5 goals in life. I’ve been thinking plenty about things to do in the more immediate future (see my 101 in 1001 list) but haven’t put much emphasis on the top 5 things I’d like to do with my life. There’s a lot of pressure. I came to the conclusion that while I can come up with my top 5 list right now, this list will changing throughout my life as I pass through various stages of life. Someone had commented on how a changed goal is not a failure, but could be an ever greater accomplishment than the original goal. This really stuck with me and kind of opened up that writer’s block (yah, writer’s block for a 5 point list). So here we go:

  1. Be the best version of me
  2. Learn
  3. Control my reactions – sometimes I get really worked up and just react without thinking…oops.
  4. Be a much healthier version of me
  5. Be a more generous version of me – in thought, word, and action

Obviously these are more general, overarching goals than my Day Zero Project, but I feel like these are all very in line with that list, and those 101 goals I’m trying to achieve will all lead me to accomplish these Top 5 goals.

With all of my contemplation about “sight”, I was playing with my camera, and decided to see my apartment from my dog’s point of view.

Ooo!  The oven!!

Ooo! The oven!!

The door the food lives behind

The door the food lives behind

The couch

The couch

The bed

The bed

The stove

The stove

The sink

The sink

One of the TVs.  Yay, yoga.

One of the TVs. Yay, yoga.

The window

The window

The front door

The front door

The bathroom and closet doors.  MY FAVORITE PLACES TO CAUSE TROUBLE!!!

The bathroom and closet doors. MY FAVORITE PLACES TO CAUSE TROUBLE!!!

What’s that?!  Chrissy’s home from work?!

IMG_2798IMG_2797IMG_2796

And to bring home the “sight” theme tonight, I met Eric at KR.  I was wearing some gray dress pants, a frilly white dress shirt, and a black blazer.  My hair was pulled back, I was wearing glasses and no makeup.  The first thing I hear when I enter the bar?  “Wow, Eric.  Is this your new boyfriend?”  I have to say, usually being called a boy (to me) is a compliment.  But tonight, I won’t lie, I have never felt worse about myself.  I actually got the camera out tonight to take pictures of myself to post as a poll.  I couldn’t decide if I looked cute, like a librarian, or amish.  Nope, apparently it was “man”.  So anyway, I’m not putting that up now.  I very rarely feel bad about myself and certainly not this badly.  I recognize I don’t put in a lot of effort (see goals 5-10) but come on.  I just told the dude, hey, that was really NOT a nice thing to say but I didn’t really feel any better.  No one could stand up for me because they were all so stunned.  Anyone out there have any suggestions for how to deal with something like this?